Sea Eagles upset previously unbeaten Roosters
DYLAN Walker, take a bow.
The Manly centre put his hand up high to let Laurie Daley know he's available for an Origin call-up with a starring role to lead the Sea Eagles to victory against the Roosters.
Walker scored two of his side's three tries and bagged the winner as Manly upset the previously unbeaten Chooks 18-12 at Allianz Stadium.
Walker played the first two games of the 2016 Origin series for NSW and may have just put himself back in calculations.
But he was also involved in a strange incident in the first half which may have set a precedent for NRL referees.
It was in the 30th minute with the score locked at 6-6 when Walker brought the ball out from his defensive 20 metres and spilled it in the tackle.
Assistant referee Chris Butler awarded the scrum to the Roosters but Walker felt he had been impeded in the play-the-ball by Isaac Liu.
The Manly centre responded to the call by saying "you're kidding, have a look mate" to Butler while pointing at the Allianz Stadium big screen.
Referee Ben Cummins intervened and blew a penalty to the Roosters, saying "we're not going to tolerate dissent".
Sea Eagles captain Daly Cherry-Evans questioned the penalty and argued what Walker had said was not dissent, but Cummins insisted it was.
Fox Sports commentator Andrew Voss wondered aloud whether Melbourne skipper Cameron Smith or Cowboys equivalent Johnathan Thurston would have been penalised so easily.
Smith in particular has built a reputation for his ability to speak to referees during play.
"Well if that's the benchmark have they (the referees) just made a rod for their own back?" Voss said.
"Some will say fantastic, but are they going to carry it to tomorrow night in Melbourne, are they going to do it in Townsville tonight?
"Is it going to happen everywhere? I don't mind it in principle but it's a big call.
"There wasn't expletive, it wasn't necessarily disrespectful."
Fellow commentator and former Balmain hardman Steve Roach agreed the penalty may have not been necessary.
"The call was that he was in (the referee's) face, he wasn't in his face at all," Roach said.
"All he said was have a look at it."
Braith Anasta agreed with his fellow commentators and argued Walker may have been right in questioning Brown's involvement in the spilled ball.
"To be fair he had a point, because (Isaac Liu's) foot was all over the ball, he was in the ruck," Anasta said.
"I don't think a penalty was sufficient there, and I don't think what he said was enough to warrant what just happened."